Q & A

"Allegiance" author Kermit Roosevelt answers a few questions

Allegiance, the historical fiction novel by Kermit Roosevelt, is a sophisticated legal thriller that plunges readers into the debate within the US government surrounding the imprisonment of thousands of innocent Americans during World War II. Roosevelt sat down with us to answer a few questions about his book, and parallels between his book and some of the rhetoric being spouted during this presidential race. Click through for the fascinating responses! 

Author Q&A with Jenny Zhang

On Friday, November 10th at 7pm, Columbia's Art + Life reading series features Jenny Zhang, in conversation with Kate Zambreno. Jenny Zhang is an American writer and poet based in Brooklyn, New York. She is the author of the story collection Sour Heart, the poetry collection Dear Jenny, We Are All Find and a collection of poetry and essays, The Selected Jenny Zhang. In anticipation of her reading, Jenny answered a few questions. Read what she has to say below!

Go Around the World with Book Culture

Travel across the globe and gets insights into other cultures -- all from the comfort of your couch (or other favorite reading spot). Starting this month, you can sign up for our Around the World book subscription. Each month will feature a book from a different continent. These books, all chosen by indie bookseller Devon Dunn, capture the essence and locales of countries from around the world. This subscription is perfect for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche, Jorge Luis Borges, or Arundhati Roy. Learn a little more about this subscription, and the bookseller behind it, by checking out our Q&A with Devon here

Interview with Sasha Matthews, author of "Sitting Bull: A Life Story"

Last Friday, I had the chance to meet with writer Sasha Matthews at our 112th store for an exclusive interview on her debut comic book Sitting Bull: A Life Story.  Sasha Matthews is ten years old, attends fifth grade at a public school on the Upper West Side in Manhattan, and loves reading and writing comic books.  We talked for over a half-hour about how she came to write Sitting Bull, what it is about comic books that inspires her, her influences, and most of all, what she finds surprising and challenging about the comic-book writing process. 

Late Night Library: Podcast Interview with Rachel Hadas

This Friday, April 17th, at 7pm, Rachel Hadas will read as part of the "Poets of Other Persuasions" poetry reading.  Rachel was recently interviewed by Kristen Maffei, as part of Late Night Library literary podcast series. Check it out at: http://latenightlibrary.org/rachel-hadas-the-golden-road/.

Podcast w/ Chris Doeblin: The Case for Independent Bookstores Making Bold Moves

Be sure to check out a recently released podcast interview with Book Culture's owner, Chris Doeblin, in which he speaks about the opening of the new Columbus Store, the historic struggle of independent bookstores in NYC, his' favorite books, and other insights into life as a bookstore owner and bookseller. 

Pages