Shop Local

Book Culture at 112th Staff Summer Reading Lists!

After yet another brutal New York winter, summer is finally here! No more gray freezing days--the city is in full bloom, the sun sets later every day, and we have more time than ever to laze around NYC's parks and benches to READ! We hope our staff and managers' personal summer reading lists will help inspire many months full of of playful, contemplative, and ever surprising literary adventures.

Book Culture Celebrates Women’s History Month

There is no singular “women’s history”; the extremely vast and varied experience of womanhood can not be catalogued by one author or even one genre. In keeping with this idea, our Women’s History Month reading list features poetry, science fiction, politics, history, classics, graphic novels, and more. Whatever kind of reader you are, we hope our Women’s History Month reading list will introduce you to a new author, new genre, or new way of looking at womanhood.

Complete List of Books Featured in Said Silent Auction

Here is a complete list of the texts that will be a part of our Edward Said Silent Auction, beginning this Friday, April 3rd, at 6pm and continuing through Sunday, April 5th at 7pm.  If you would like to bid on a book, please email with the book your are interested in, your bid, and "Silent Auction" in the subject line. And be sure to come by the store to check out many more titles from Said's personal library for the weekend long sale, beginning with an opening reception on April 3rd at 6pm. 

Earth Day Reading List

When we went looking for Earth Day reading recommendations this year, we found that most peoples' lists seem to target the K-8 crowd. In the interest of suggesting something beyond the essential Silent Spring and Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, we pulled a mix of academic and popular nonfiction (and one novel) that we think resonate with the spirit of Earth Day (which, we say, should be every day). 


Edward Said Library Showcase & Sale

This is the first of many blog posts will feature books for sale in our upcoming (and very exciting) Edward Said Library showcase, beginning with an opening reception on Friday, April 3rd, at 6pm and running through Sunday, April 5th

How did we acquire sixty boxes of Said's personal library? After the family of Edward Said donated a large portion of his library to Columbia's Butler Library, we were given many remaining texts inscribed by and to Said, as well as titles influential in the development of cultural studies, literary criticism, middle eastern politics, among others. 


Get Lost in Literature in Translation

lit in translation

In the throes of Ferrante fever? Enjoyed The Door as much as The New York Times? Then you just might be addicted to literature in translation! Surprisingly, only 3% of all novels published in the U.S. are in translation. But we are here to bridge the gap. Our new subscription program, Literature in Translation, features work from stellar authors and translators. Throughout the year indie bookseller Cari Kilbride will comb through a mix of translated classics and newly published books to choose a stand out novel to send every month. 

Go Around the World with Book Culture

Travel across the globe and gets insights into other cultures -- all from the comfort of your couch (or other favorite reading spot). Starting this month, you can sign up for our Around the World book subscription. Each month will feature a book from a different continent. These books, all chosen by indie bookseller Devon Dunn, capture the essence and locales of countries from around the world. This subscription is perfect for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche, Jorge Luis Borges, or Arundhati Roy. Learn a little more about this subscription, and the bookseller behind it, by checking out our Q&A with Devon here

Guest Bookseller Recommendations: Feat. Tim O'Mara, Lee Child, Andrea Chapin, and Joshua Ferris

Small Business Saturday was on November 28. To help us celebrate, some local authors came in to work as guest booksellers. Lee Child, Time O'Mara, Andrea Chapin, and Joshua Ferris all had a chance to write their own "staff recommendations." See them below, and thanks to all who shopped small this weekend (and always)!