What are you reading?

Go Around the World with Book Culture

Travel across the globe and gets insights into other cultures -- all from the comfort of your couch (or other favorite reading spot). Starting this month, you can sign up for our Around the World book subscription. Each month will feature a book from a different continent. These books, all chosen by indie bookseller Devon Dunn, capture the essence and locales of countries from around the world. This subscription is perfect for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche, Jorge Luis Borges, or Arundhati Roy. Learn a little more about this subscription, and the bookseller behind it, by checking out our Q&A with Devon here

Guest Bookseller Recommendations: Feat. Tim O'Mara, Lee Child, Andrea Chapin, and Joshua Ferris

Small Business Saturday was on November 28. To help us celebrate, some local authors came in to work as guest booksellers. Lee Child, Time O'Mara, Andrea Chapin, and Joshua Ferris all had a chance to write their own "staff recommendations." See them below, and thanks to all who shopped small this weekend (and always)!

June LGBT Pride Display at 112th

Honoring the anniversary of the 1969 Stonewall riots, June is LGBT Pride Month and at Book Culture on 112th, we’ve picked some of our favorite works of queer fiction, poetry, graphic lit and theory to celebrate. Reflecting the diversity of the LGBT community and its history, our picks illustrate the progress and victories of the present, honor the struggles and losses of the past, and offer hopeful critique and recognition of a better future.

Meet the Staff: Devon Dunn

Devon BioNow that you have met some of the wonderful people who work at Book Culture on Columbus, we are ready to introduce the staff at Book Culture's 112th store! There are quite a few of us, so look forward to many more posts, reading recommendations, and exclusive insights into the workings of an independent bookstore.

Mumtaz! Eight Arabic Literary Standouts All Book-Lovers Should Know

The Arabic word for “awesome,” mumtaz, comes from a root meaning “to divide” or “to distinguish,” and Arabic literature comprises a vast and diverse web of texts – composed in locales from Sudan to Jordan to Yemen, by litterateurs ranging from the eloquent Arabian poet-warriors of the 6th century to the realistic fiction writers of the nineteenth century to the brilliantly inventive contemporary writers whose work blasts apart genres – all distinguished by a passionate love for the Arabic language and its possibilities. Whatever your preconceptions about what Arabic literature is or isn’t, you surely don’t have the whole story!

Our Summer Reading Picks: Book Culture on Broadway

Summer's finally here and with it comes the greatest of warm-weather activities: summer reading! In case you need any ideas for what to read on the beach (or for sitting in front of the AC in your apartment, as the case may be), we here at Book Culture have decided to share our summer reading lists. Whether we're reading the hot new release, or returning to a classic we somehow missed in school, everyone here has a lot of books they're excited to read in the coming months. We hope this list provides you some inspiration for a great literary summer! 

Pages