The Wanderers (Hardcover)

The Wanderers Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
Broadway
1 on hand, as of Nov 17 5:15pm
Columbus
2 on hand, as of Nov 17 5:15pm

Yoshi, Sergei, and Helen are on track to be the first people to go to Mars. But first they must pretend to go to Mars, in a seventeen-month-long simulation. What follows is both scientific-- cosmic, even-- and deeply human. Howrey dips effortlessly into the minds of the astronauts, their family members, and the people running the simulation, without any loss of authenticity or grace. Beautifully written, by turns funny and poignant, this debut is perfect for fans of The Martian, and, miraculously, also for people who tried to read The Martian but thought it was too dense!

-- Haley

— From Haley P. Staff Picks

March 2017 Indie Next List


“In The Wanderers, Meg Howrey brilliantly weaves together the vastness of outer space with the intimacy of human nature. Howrey's characters are artfully drawn - full of strengths and failings and each yearning for something in their relationships with others. The Mars simulation at the center of the story represents an exciting new frontier for human beings, but Howrey's astronauts demonstrate that even those driving the larger quest for human greatness are flawed individuals leading complicated lives. This is a wonderfully introspective novel on the meaning of space exploration and what we learn about ourselves when facing the unknown.”
— Kelsey O'Rourke (M), Literati Bookstore, Ann Arbor, MI

Description


A brilliantly inventive novel about three astronauts training for the first-ever mission to Mars, an experience that will push the boundary between real and unreal, test their relationships, and leave each of them--and their families--changed forever.

"A transcendent, cross-cultural, and cross planetary journey into the mysteries of space and self. . . . Howrey's expansive vision left me awestruck." --Ruth Ozeki

"Howrey's exquisite novel demonstrates that the final frontier may not be space after all." --J. Ryan Stradal

In an age of space exploration, we search to find ourselves.

In four years, aerospace giant Prime Space will put the first humans on Mars. Helen Kane, Yoshihiro Tanaka, and Sergei Kuznetsov must prove they're the crew for the historic voyage by spending seventeen months in the most realistic simulation ever created. Constantly observed by Prime Space's team of "Obbers," Helen, Yoshi, and Sergei must appear ever in control. But as their surreal pantomime progresses, each soon realizes that the complications of inner space are no less fraught than those of outer space. The borders between what is real and unreal begin to blur, and each astronaut is forced to confront demons past and present, even as they struggle to navigate their increasingly claustrophobic quarters--and each other.

Astonishingly imaginative, tenderly comedic, and unerringly wise, The Wanderers explores the differences between those who go and those who stay, telling a story about the desire behind all exploration: the longing for discovery and the great search to understand the human heart.

About the Author


Meg Howrey is a former dancer who performed with The Joffrey, Eglevsky Ballet, and City Ballet of Los Angeles. She is the author of two previous novels, Blind Sight and The Cranes Dance, and the coauthor of the bestselling novels City of Dark Magic, and City of Lost Dreams, published under the pen name Magnus Flyte. Her non-fiction has appeared in Vogue and The Los Angeles Review of Books. She currently lives in Los Angeles.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399574634
ISBN-10: 0399574638
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English