The Sisters Chase (Hardcover)

The Sisters Chase Cover Image
$25.00
On Our Shelves Now
Columbus
2 on hand, as of Nov 17 5:15pm

Don't come between the Mary and Hannah (aka Bunny) Chase. In the wake of a terrible accident, all they have is each other. But that suits Mary just fine. Over the course of this tightly wound and engrossing novel, we come-- slowly, but inevitably-- to learn the lengths to which fierce, raven-haired Mary would go for Bunny. Author Sarah Healy has created a novel so cleverly threaded that it can feel like you're being dared not to flinch. In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping, The Sisters Chase has a pull like gravity, and is absolutely not to be missed.

-- Haley

— From Haley P. Staff Picks

"Author Sarah Healy has created a novel so cleverly threaded that it can feel like you're being dared not to flinch. In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping, The Sisters Chase has a pull like gravity, and is absolutely not to be missed." - Haley, Book Culture Selects letter, New and Noteworthy Fiction hardcover, August 2017

— From August Picks: Book Culture Selects

Description


"Thoroughly surprising...The Sisters Chase is that rare thing, a slow burner that conceals its cunning and sneaks up on you unawares."--New York Times

A gripping novel about two sisters who are left homeless by their mother's death and the lengths the fierce older sister will go to protect her beloved young charge

The hardscrabble Chase women--Mary, Hannah, and their mother Diane--have been eking out a living running a tiny seaside motel that has been in the family for generations, inviting trouble into their lives for just as long. Eighteen-year-old Mary Chase is a force of nature: passionate, beautiful, and free-spirited. Her much younger sister, Hannah, whom Mary affectionately calls "Bunny," is imaginative, her head full of the stories of princesses and adventures that Mary tells to give her a safe emotional place in the middle of their troubled world.

But when Diane dies in a car accident, Mary discovers the motel is worth less than the back taxes they owe. With few options, Mary's finely tuned instincts for survival kick in. As the sisters begin a cross-country journey in search of a better life, she will stop at nothing to protect Hannah. But Mary wants to protect herself, too, for the secrets she promised she would never tell--but now may be forced to reveal--hold the weight of unbearable loss. Vivid and suspenseful, The Sisters Chase is a whirlwind page-turner about the extreme lengths one family will go to find--and hold onto--love.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780544960077
ISBN-10: 0544960076
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English