112th: "Extraordinary Rendition" with Eileen Myles, Ru Freeman, Nancy Kricorian, Marilyn Hacker, and Bruce Robbins

Event date: 
04/20/2016 - 7:00pm

Join us on Wednesday, April 20 at 7pm for a discussion on Extraordinary Rendition. The panel will include contributors Eileen MylesRu FreemanNancy KricorianMarilyn Hacker, and Lawrence Joseph. Professor Bruce Robbins will introduce and moderate the event.

Extraordinary Rendition brings together the work of sixty-five prominent writers to examine America’s culpability in the denial of human rights and dignity to Palestinians in Israel/Palestine and beyond.

The anthology includes pieces by writers such as Chana Bloch, Jane Hirshfield, Colum McCann, Roger Reeves, George Saunders and Alice Walker. In writing that is always clear, and often startlingly beautiful, they cover a range of issues including the erasure and reconstruction of histories, the examination of identity, the rights, privileges, and responsibilities of speaking out as artists, the conditions of occupation, and the potential for activism. They also explore the way U.S. foreign policy towards Palestine regularly mirrors the harsh realities faced by many of America’s own minorities.

The anthology as a whole counters the dehumanizing narrative about Palestine that has taken hold in the United States, often supported by mainstream news organizations, and makes a significant contribution toward an understanding of the ways people of conscience in general, and writers in particular, can take on one of the most pressing political questions of our time.

Eileen Myles is the author of nineteen books including I Must Be Living Twice: New & Selected Poems, and a 2015 reissue of Chelsea Girls. Eileen is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship in non-fiction, an Andy more . . .

Ru Freeman is a Sri Lankan born writer and activist whose creative and political work has appeared internationally. She is the author of the novels A Disobedient Girl (Atria/Simon & Schuster, 2009), and On Sal Mal Lane (Graywolf Press), a NYT Editor’s Choice Book. Both novels have been translated into multiple languages including Italian, French, Turkish, Dutch, and Chinese. She is editor of the anthology, Extraordinary Rendition: (American) Writers on Palestine (OR Books, 2015), a collection of the voices of 65 American poets and writers speaking about America’s dis/engagement with Palestine.

Nancy Kricorian is a New York City-based writer and activist. She is the author of the novels Zabelle, Dreams of Bread and Fire, and most recently All The Light There Was, which is set in the Armenian community of Paris during World War II.

Marilyn Hacker is an award-winning poet best known for formal poems that mix high culture and colloquial speech. Over a career spanning forty years, Hacker has established herself as a preeminent voice in the tradition of Robert Lowell and Adrienne Rich. From her first book, the National Book Award winning Presentation Piece (1974), Hacker has defined the dimensions of a poetic universe that she continues to explore.

Lawrence Joseph is a poet, critic, essayist, and professor of law. He is the author of five books of poetry, most recently Codes, Precepts, Biases, and Taboos: Poems 1973 - 1993. Joseph is also the author of two books of prose, Lawyerland and The Game Changed: Essays and Other Prose.

Bruce Robbins is professor of English at Columbia University. He works mainly in the areas of nineteenth and twentieth century fiction, literary and cultural theory, and postcolonial studies. He is the author of several books including Upward Mobility and the Common Good: Toward a Literary History of the Welfare State (Princeton, 2007) and Feeling Global: Internationalism in Distress (NYU, 1999). His most recent book is Perpetual War: Cosmopolitanism from the Viewpoint of Violence (Duke, 2012).  He is also working on a documentary on American Jews who are critical of Israel.

Event address: 
536 W 112th St
New York, NY 10025