Please allow 2-4 days for order processing for ALL orders, in addition to shipping times.

We are currently working with very limited staffing and your patience is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Summer Reading 2020

Summertime, but the livin' ain't easy... While we're pretty happy that 2020 is half-over, there's a whole lot more to be done for our selves, our communities, and the world. We hope you'll join us in taking some time this summer to read and reflect. To recharge and re-examine.

In keeping with tradition, we've put together our summer reading lists. Strictly for participation points--you won't be graded (we promise).

 

Cara

1. Funny Weather: Art in an Emergency by Olivia Laing - First of all, Olivia Laing is a genius. Second of all, there is no better time than right now, as we watch arts budgets being cut left and right, to read essays about how art can change the world.

2. The City We Became by N K Jemisin - I just finished Jemisin's Broken Earth trilogy (an astonishing landmark in fantasy that I highly recommend), and I'm already feeling deprived of the matter-of-fact way she writes all the secrets she discovered about humanity with her x-ray vision. A new Jemisin novel featuring personifications of New York's boroughs locked in a deadly battle for survival? Yes, thank you!

3. Calamities by Renee Gladman - I really, really, really want to read these literary essays that trace the shapes between writing, the body, movement, and time into a three-dimensional architecture of life. 

 

 

Devon

1. A House Is a Body by Shruti Swamy - SO. EXCITED. FOR. THIS. COLLECTION. I've heard nothing but good things about Swamy's writing and her debut promises a blend of fear and joy, myth and dreams, told with an electrifyingly fresh voice. People Who Know say it's perfect for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah (so, basically, it's perfect for ME).

2. Are Prisons Obsolete? by Angela Davis - Isn't this everyone's required reading for the summer?

3. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster - I somehow made it through my whole childhood without reading this. I'm hoping it'll be a good pick-me-up when I need to recharge.

 

Kevin

1. The Unspoken Name by A.K Larkwood - A super buff orc lady who's a hit-man for an exiled wizard? Who would have thought I'd see those words together in one sentence? But there they are and I'm dying to know more about that!!

2. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente - I'm always down for a new other-worldly adventure! Being a huge fan of A Wrinkle in Time and reading the description of this book series, I'm feeling this is the logical next step!

3. Jade War (Green Bone Sage #2) By Fonda Lee - Jade City was such a stand out when I read it in 2019, that I can't wait to get my hands on this book to pick up where I left off with this amazing cast of characters.

 

Lucas

1. The Gulag Archipelago by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn - I hear that this is perhaps the most important work of the 20th century. It's a work of historical nonfiction exposing the Soviet Union's infamous forced labor camps. Solzhenitsyn put together the book thanks to many sources including himself, having experienced the horrors of socialism first-hand during his time in a gulag; an event in his life that seemed to have greatly inspired his work. The Soviet Union is luckily long-gone but the gulags still exist in countries such as North Korea, China, and Venezuela. This book is relevant today even after almost fifty years. Looking forward to reading this one.

2. Neuromancer by William Gibson - Growing up, I used to consume tons of science fiction; reading authors like Philip K. Dick and Robert Heinlein, and watching movies like Escape from New York. In my adult life, however, I've sadly neglected exposing myself to more from this genre. This book is a famous entry in the cyberpunk subgenre which follows a computer hacker and a cyborg mercenary in a future world with virtual reality. Published in the eighties, it's often credited with inspiring the development of the internet. As a kid, science fiction interested me because of its archetypes and aesthetics. As an adult, I am interested in how it often predicts the problems that affect humanity's existence in relation to technology. I have to get back on it.

 

  

Joe

1. Children Of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky - This book comes highly recommended to me as a good science fiction book with very weird lifeforms on another planet. That's enough for me to want to dig into it!

2. Right Ho, Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse - I've watched a lot of British comedy shows, and I figured now's a good time to check out some Wodehouse, the author whose works the Jeeves & Wooster TV show is based on.

3. Shadow & Claw by Gene Wolf - I'm generally not a fan of fantasy as much as I am science fiction, and this science-fantasy book has been recommended to me a good way to bridge the divide.

 

   

Cody

1. Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo - Everyone I know who has read this book has simply raved and raved. I have had a galley staring at me since, well, too long, so I know that it is high time to jump into it. A decades spanning, multi-voiced novel really is my jam. And it won the Man Booker. 

2. Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh by John Lahr - I started reading this during the first week of shelter in place with the hope that it would only take me a few weeks...and I'm only halfway. But I am a sucker for the 'summer project' book and happy I am taking my time with it. I take breaks to watch film adaptations and reread scenes from plays as they come up, making it a really immersive experience. And once I finish I will move on to the letters!

3. Beloved by Toni Morrison - I haven't Toni Morrison's fiction so this is my first step to correct that! 

I also have a few different book clubs going, so I'll also be making time for Persuasion, Are Prisons Obsolete?, and a deeper understanding of the Hermit Card.

Funny Weather: Art in an Emergency Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781324005704
Availability: Not in Stock - Available for special order
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 12th, 2020

The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

Calamities Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696270
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Wave Books - September 6th, 2016

Pre-Order Now Badge
A House Is a Body: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616209896
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Algonquin Books - August 11th, 2020

Are Prisons Obsolete? (Open Media Series) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781583225813
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Seven Stories Press - August 5th, 2003

The Phantom Tollbooth Cover Image
By Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780394820378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Yearling - October 12th, 1988

The Unspoken Name (The Serpent Gates #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250238900
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Tor Books - February 11th, 2020

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making Cover Image
By Catherynne M. Valente, Ana Juan (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250010193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Square Fish - May 8th, 2012

Jade War (The Green Bone Saga #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316440905
Availability: Not in Stock - Available for special order
Published: Orbit - February 25th, 2020

The Gulag Archipelago 1918-1956 Abridged: An Experiment in Literary Investigation Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780061253805
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - August 7th, 2007

Neuromancer (Sprawl Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780441569595
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Ace - August 15th, 1986

Children of Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316452502
Availability: Not in Stock - Available for special order
Published: Orbit - December 11th, 2018

Right Ho, Jeeves Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9780393339789
Availability: Not in Stock - Available for special order
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 5th, 2011

Shadow & Claw: The First Half of 'The Book of the New Sun' Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780312890179
Availability: Not in Stock - Available for special order
Published: Orb Books - October 15th, 1994

Girl, Woman, Other: A Novel (Booker Prize Winner) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802156983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Grove Press, Black Cat - November 5th, 2019

Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh Cover Image
$7.98
ISBN: 9780393351651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 21st, 2015

Beloved (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781400033416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Vintage - June 8th, 2004