Our Most Anticipated Books of July 2023

Staff Pick Badge
The Light Room By Kate Zambreno Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593421062
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Riverhead Books - July 4th, 2023

Every book Kate Zambreno writes changes the game forever after and The Light Room is no exception. A memoir of motherhood that is as much a philosophical treatise on community and conversation with writers from Natalia Ginzburg to YĹ«ko Tsushima.


Staff Pick Badge
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop: A Novel By Satoshi Yagisawa, Eric Ozawa (Translated by) Cover Image
By Satoshi Yagisawa, Eric Ozawa (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063278677
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Harper Perennial - July 4th, 2023

Need a little summertime pick-me-up? Look no further than the Morisaki Bookshop! After a soul-crushing breakup, Takako makes a fresh start working at her uncle's used bookshop, falling in love with literature and forging new friendships at the nearby coffeeshop. 


Temple Folk By Aaliyah Bilal Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982191818
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 4th, 2023

A groundbreaking debut collection portraying the lived experiences of Black Muslims grappling with faith, family, and freedom in America. With an unflinching eye for the contradictions between what these characters profess to believe and what they do, Temple Folk accomplishes the rare feat of presenting moral failures with compassion, nuance and humor to remind us that while perfection is what many of us strive for, it’s the errors that make us human.


Staff Pick Badge
Half-Life of a Stolen Sister By Rachel Cantor Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781641294645
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Soho Press - July 11th, 2023

A kaleidoscopic, playful reimaging of the lives of the three Brontë sisters (and their brother, Branwell), Half-Life of a Stolen Sister is in turns a fact-based historical portrait, an alternate-universe timeline, and a wholly original novel. Perfect for fans of Rivka Galchen and Katherine Dunn.


The Parrot and the Igloo: Climate and the Science of Denial By David Lipsky Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780393866704
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually ships in 3-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 11th, 2023

"Where can a person living on a melting planet turn, at least before the spaceship fleet is ready, for enlightenment? I’d start, and finish, with David Lipsky’s brilliant epic The Parrot and the Igloo, which I devoured in a single, feverish, page-turning sitting, a perspective-altering dream, a story told in language as sharp and clear as the spring air we knew before all the carbon was released.… You will stare out the same windows when you've finished, but nothing will look the same."

— Rich Cohen, author of Sweet and Low and Monsters


Thunderclap: A Memoir of Art and Life and Sudden Death By Laura Cumming Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9781982181741
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Scribner - July 11th, 2023

New York Times bestselling author and art critic Laura Cumming reveals the fascinating, little-known story of the Thunderclap—the massive explosion at a gunpowder store in Holland that killed Carel Fabritius, renowned painter of The Goldfinch and nearly killed Johannes Vermeer, painter of Girl with a Pearl Earring—two of the greatest artists of the 17th century.


Staff Pick Badge
Crook Manifesto: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780385545150
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Doubleday - July 18th, 2023

Listen, if you're not reading Colson Whitehead yet, what are you even doing? You're fixing that, that's what you're doing. Whitehead-heads and the uninitiated alike will revel in this latest novel, a portrait of 1970s Harlem painted in his signature rich, dark humor that makes harsh truths go down smooth.


Staff Pick Badge
Every Rising Sun: A Novel By Jamila Ahmed Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250887078
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 18th, 2023

One Thousand and One Nights meets Circe in this "sumptuous, delicious novel infused with the joys of storytelling" (Leila Aboulela). Set during the third crusade, Every Rising Sun features the fabled Shaherazade in her own words, this time, telling her own story. A beautiful debut novel that is a love letter to the medieval Isalmic world.


Kings of Their Own Ocean: Tuna, Obsession, and the Future of Our Seas By Karen Pinchin Cover Image
$30.00
Not Available
ISBN: 9780593471470
Published: Dutton - July 18th, 2023

In 2004, an enigmatic charter captain named Al Anderson caught and marked one Atlantic bluefin tuna off New England’s coast with a plastic fish tag. Fourteen years later that fish—dubbed Amelia for her ocean-spanning journeys—died in a Mediterranean fish trap, sparking Karen Pinchin’s riveting investigation into the marvels, struggles, and prehistoric legacy of this remarkable species.


How to Love Your Daughter: A Novel By Hila Blum, Daniella Zamir (Translated by) Cover Image
By Hila Blum, Daniella Zamir (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593539644
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Riverhead Books - July 18th, 2023

“A mother’s adoration of her only child might be commonplace, but it is never simple. Hila Blum explores one particular mother-daughter relationship with remarkable acuity. Her novel takes us on a suspenseful psychological journey as she plumbs a great mystery: how the purest maternal love can lead to the most unwanted and even disastrous consequences.”

—Sigrid Nunez, author of The Friend and What Are You Going Through


Pleasure of Thinking: Essays By Wang Xiaobo, Yan Yan (Translated by) Cover Image
By Wang Xiaobo, Yan Yan (Translated by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781662601255
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Astra House - July 25th, 2023

A yet-untranslated essay collection on the importance of critical thought, from one of the foremost Chinese intellectuals of the 1990s. Wang Xiaobo’s Pleasure of Thinking is an essay collection as riotous as it is contemplative. Between rollicking anecdotes about living between the East and West and serious musings on the intellectual situations at home and abroad, Xiaobo examines modern life with the levity missing from so much of today’s politico-cultural discourse.


Schoenberg: Why He Matters By Harvey Sachs Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781631497575
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Liveright - August 15th, 2023

In his time, the Austrian American composer Arnold Schoenberg (1874–1951) was an international icon. His twelve-tone system was considered the future of music itself. Today, however, leading orchestras rarely play his works, and his name is met with apathy, if not antipathy. With this interpretative account, the acclaimed biographer of Toscanini finally restores Schoenberg to his rightful place in the canon, revealing him as one of the twentieth century’s most influential composers and teachers.