Our Most-Anticipated Books of February 2024

Our Most-Anticipated Books of February 2024

Fourteen Days: A Collaborative Novel By The Authors Guild, Margaret Atwood, Douglas Preston Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780358616382
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Harper - February 6th, 2024

Set in a Lower East Side tenement in the early days of the COVID-19 lockdowns, Fourteen Days is an irresistibly propulsive collaborative novel from the Authors Guild, with an unusual twist: each character in this diverse, eccentric cast of New York neighbors has been secretly written by a different, major literary voice—from Margaret Atwood and Celeste Ng to Tommy Orange and John Grisham.


Antiquity: A Novel By Hanna Johansson, Kira Josefsson (Translated by) Cover Image
By Hanna Johansson, Kira Josefsson (Translated by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781646221714
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Catapult - February 6th, 2024

Elegant, slippery, and provocative, Antiquity is a queer Lolita story by prize-winning Swedish author Hanna Johansson—a story of desire, power, obsession, observation, and taboo.


Staff Pick Badge
Christian Imperial Feminism: White Protestant Women and the Consecration of Empire (North American Religions #20) By Gale L. Kenny Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781479825530
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: New York University Press - February 6th, 2024

Barnard professor Gale Kenny delivers the perfect chaser to falling down a TradWife tiktok rabbit hole. Christian Imperial Feminism explores the racial politics of white religious liberalism, where those who vocally and publically support civil rights will simultaneously maintain white, Christian womanhood as a default.


Alphabetical Diaries By Sheila Heti Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374610784
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 6th, 2024

Sheila Heti kept a record of her thoughts over a ten-year period, then arranged the sentences from A to Z. Passionate and reflective, joyful and despairing, these are her alphabetical diaries.


Literary Theory for Robots: How Computers Learned to Write (A Norton Short) By Dennis Yi Tenen Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780393882186
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 6th, 2024

Automation is supposed to make our lives easier. Instead, AI systems are being trained to paint, write, and imagine. In this provocative reflection on the shared pasts of literature and computer science, former Microsoft engineer and professor of comparative literature Dennis Yi Tenen provides crucial context for recent developments in AI, which holds important lessons for the future of humans living with smart technology.


The Blueprint: A Novel By Rae Giana Rashad Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063330092
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Harper - February 13th, 2024

 In the vein of Octavia E. Butler and Margaret Atwood, a harrowing novel set in an alternate United States—a world of injustice and bondage in which a young Black woman becomes the concubine of a powerful white government official and must face the dangerous consequences.


Staff Pick Badge
Plastic: A Novel By Scott Guild Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593316764
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Pantheon - February 13th, 2024

Erin is a plastic girl living in a plastic world. Every day she eats a breakfast of boiled chicken, then conveys her articulated body to Tablet Town, where she sells other figurines Smartbodies: wearable tech that allows full, physical immersion in a virtual world, a refuge from real life’s brutal wars, oppressive governmental monitoring, and omnipresent eco-terrorist insurgency. Greta Gerwig has nothing on Scott Guild.


The Book of Love: A Novel By Kelly Link Cover Image
$31.00
ISBN: 9780812996586
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Random House - February 13th, 2024

“What more can be said about Kelly Link, that has not been (breathlessly) said already? She is a sorcerer. She is our greatest living fabulist. There is no one like her. And The Book of Love is a luxurious, bewitching novel of exceptional beauty and power.”

—Carmen Maria Machado, author of In the Dream House


Smoke and Ashes: Opium's Hidden Histories By Amitav Ghosh Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780374602925
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 13th, 2024

Ghosh unravels the impact of the opium trade on global history and in his own family―the climax of a yearslong project. Smoke and Ashes is at once a travelogue, a memoir, and an essay in history, drawing on decades of archival research.


Monkey Grip: A Novel By Helen Garner, Lauren Groff (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Helen Garner, Lauren Groff (Foreword by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9780553387452
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Pantheon - February 20th, 2024

When Nora falls in love with the flighty Javo, she becomes snared in the web of his addiction. And as their tenuous relationship disintegrates, Nora struggles to wean herself off a love that feels impossible to live without. A seminal novel of Australia’s turbulent 1970s and all it entailed—communal households, music, friendships, children, love, drugs, and sex—Monkey Grip now makes its long-overdue American debut.


Staff Pick Badge
Language City: The Fight to Preserve Endangered Mother Tongues in New York By Ross Perlin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780802162465
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - February 20th, 2024

NYC is one of the most diverse cities on the planet, and, as linguist Ross Perlin, co-director of the Endangered Language Alliance, highlights, it is home to speakers of some of the rarest languages on Earth.  In Language City, Perlin recounts the unique history of immigration that shaped the city, and follows six remarkable yet ordinary speakers of endangered languages deep into their communities to learn how they are maintaining and reviving their languages against overwhelming odds.


The Great Wave: The Era of Radical Disruption and the Rise of the Outsider By Michiko Kakutani Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525574996
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Crown - February 20th, 2024

“In this dazzling and brilliant book, Michiko Kakutani provides a sweeping look at the historical and social and technological forces that have crested to create the destructive wave of volatility that is disrupting our times. Drawing lessons from the Middle Ages to the Gilded Age, she explains the cascading chaos of our era and points to ways that we can regain some stability.”

—Walter Isaacson, New York Times bestselling author of Elon Musk


Revolutions in American Music: Three Decades That Changed a Country and Its Sounds By Michael Broyles Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780393634204
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 20th, 2024

In Revolutions in American Music, award-winning author Michael Broyles shows the surprising ways in which three key decades—the 1840s, the 1920s, and the 1950s—shaped America’s musical future. Drawing connections between new styles of music like the minstrel show, jazz, and rock ’n’ roll, and emerging technologies like the locomotive, the first music recordings, and the transistor radio, Broyles argues that these decades fundamentally remade our cultural landscape in enduring ways. At the same time, these connections revealed racial fault lines running through the business of music, in an echo of American society as a whole.


Staff Pick Badge
Wandering Stars: A novel By Tommy Orange Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593318256
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Knopf - February 27th, 2024

NEW. TOMMY. ORANGE.

Wandering Stars, a follow-up to Orange's 2018 runaway debut, There There, weaves together past and present in a prescient exploration of generational trauma and what it means to be the heirs of a massacre.


Staff Pick Badge
Green Dot: A Novel By Madeleine Gray Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250890597
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - February 27th, 2024

Join Hera, a twenty-something coporate drone, while she looks for love in all the wrong places in this sharply funny debut. Arthur, the object of her affection, is captivating, sexy, and... married. The classic love triangle gets a fresh facelift in the capable hands of Madeleine Gray, whose artistry elevates Green Dot from a beach read, to a great read.


A Woman of Pleasure: A Novel By Kiyoko Murata, Juliet Winters Carpenter (Translated by) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781640095793
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Counterpoint - February 27th, 2024

Based on real-life events in Meiji-era Japan, award-winning and critically acclaimed veteran writer Kiyoko Murata re-creates in stunning detail the brutal yet vibrant lives of women in the red-light district at the turn of the twentieth century—the bond they share, the survival skills they pass down, and the power of owning one's language.


Dead Weight: Essays on Hunger and Harm By Emmeline Clein Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593536902
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Knopf - February 27th, 2024

A personal and cultural look at the dark underbelly of Western beauty standards and the lethal culture of disordered eating they've wrought. Drawing on a kaleidoscopic array of sources—from cult classic films like Jennifer’s Body to the aughts-era Tumblrverse, the writing of Simone Weil, Chris Kraus, and Anne Boyer to the medieval canon of anorexic saints—Dead Weight is sure to make an impact.