Our Most-Anticipated Books for May 2024

Cinema Love: A Novel By Jiaming Tang Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593474334
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Dutton - May 7th, 2024

A staggering, tender epic about gay men in rural China and the women who marry them. Spanning three timelines—post-socialist China, 1980s Chinatown, and contemporary New York—Cinema Love is an “exceptional" and "moving” (Alice Hoffman) epic about men and women who find themselves in forbidden relationships; the weight of secrets; and the way memory forever haunts the present.


Ghostroots: Stories By 'Pemi Aguda Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781324065852
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 7th, 2024

"Ghostroots is the kind of collection you dream of discovering and reading—from one of my favorite living writers."

— Jeff VanderMeer, author of Hummingbird Salamander


SLUTS: Anthology By Michelle Tea (Editor) Cover Image
By Michelle Tea (Editor)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781635902129
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: DOPAMINE/Semiotext(e) - May 7th, 2024

What it means to be sexually promiscuous in contemporary American culture, edited by cult-favorite author Michelle Tea. Featuring personal essays, spilled secrets, fiction, memoir, and experimental works, SLUTS asks writers and readers to investigate the many ways the notion of the slut impacts our inner and outer lives, as a threat or an identity, a punishment or an aspiration, a lifestyle, an aesthetic, a philosophy and rallying cry.


América del Norte By Nicolás Medina Mora Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781641295642
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Soho Press - May 7th, 2024

Moving between New York City, Mexico City, and Iowa City, a young member of the Mexican elite sees his life splinter in a centuries-spanning debut that blends the Latin American traditions of Roberto Bolaño and Fernanda Melchor with the autofiction of US writers like Ben Lerner and Teju Cole.


Black Meme: A History of The Images That Make Us By Legacy Russell Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781839762802
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Verso - May 7th, 2024

In Black Meme, Legacy Russell, award-winning author of the groundbreaking Glitch Feminism, explores the “meme” as mapped to Black visual culture from 1900 to the present, mining both archival and contemporary media. Through imagery, memory and technology Black Meme shows us how images of Blackness have always been central to our understanding of the modern world.


Staff Pick Badge
Field Guide to the Patchy Anthropocene: The New Nature By Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing, Jennifer Deger, Alder Keleman Saxena Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781503637320
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Stanford University Press - May 7th, 2024

A collaborative work from leading researchers in Anthropology, Climate Science and Digital Humanities, including Columbia's own Feifei Zhou and Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing, author of The Mushroom at the End of the World. This Field Guide shifts attention away from knowledge extractive practices of globalization to encourage skilled observers of many stripes to pursue their commitments to place, social justice, and multispecies community.


All Fours: A Novel By Miranda July Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593190265
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Riverhead Books - May 14th, 2024

All Fours tells the story of one woman’s quest for a new kind of freedom. Part absurd entertainment, part tender reinvention of the sexual, romantic, and domestic life of a forty-five-year-old female artist, All Fours transcends expectation while excavating our beliefs about life lived as a woman. Once again, July hijacks the familiar and turns it into something new and thrillingly, profoundly alive.


Blue Ruin: A novel By Hari Kunzru Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593801376
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2024

“I read everything Hari Kunzru writes, for my highest pleasure and my deepest sustenance.”

—Rachel Kushner


Staff Pick Badge
Woodworm By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator) Cover Image
By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781949641592
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Two Lines Press - May 14th, 2024

A twisty, taut novella that is very much the spiritual heir of We Have Always Live in the Castle, Woodworm is one of the best things I've read in 2024. Gothic fiction with a modernist twist in the vein of Mariana Enriquez or Helen Oyeyemi.


The Race to the Future: 8,000 Miles to Paris - The Adventure That Accelerated the Twentieth Century By Kassia St. Clair Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781324094913
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Liveright - May 14th, 2024

The true story of the rise of the automobile as told through its Rubicon moment: a sensational, high-risk race across two continents on the verge of revolution. The racers—an Italian prince and his chauffeur, a French racing driver, a con man, and several rival journalists—battle over steep inclines, through narrow mountain passages, and across the arid Gobi Desert. 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Exhibit: A Novel By R. O. Kwon Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593190029
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 21st, 2024

R. O. Kwon, author of The Incendiaries and perennial bookseller crush (shhh, don't tell!), returns to the page with her second novel, Exhibit. At a lavish party in the hills outside of San Francisco, Jin Han, a successful photographer, meets Lidija Jung, an injured professional ballerina, and nothing will ever be the same for either woman. Familial curses, identity crises and some truly gorgeous prose abound.


Pre-Order Now Badge
American Diva: Extraordinary, Unruly, Fabulous By Deborah Paredez Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781324035305
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 21st, 2024

"American Diva is a marvel. The divas here all share a virtuosity that demands fierce labor and daring charisma. Divas use their voices and bodies to turn pain into pleasure and defeat into glory. One of Paredez’s great themes is that a diva can empower her audience—us—to reach beyond our ordinary selves. Diva ambition is potent and generous. It challenges other artists and defies cultural pieties. Deborah Paredez is the American Diva reborn as scholar, poet, and critic."

— Margo Jefferson, author of Constructing a Nervous System


Pre-Order Now Badge
Imperial Island: An Alternative History of the British Empire By Charlotte Lydia Riley Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780674258495
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harvard University Press - May 21st, 2024

In the turbulent years since the outbreak of World War II, Britain has gone from an imperial power whose dominion extended over a quarter of the world's population to an island nation divorced from Europe. This riveting new history tells the story of Britain's journey from imperial power to a nation divided--one that alternately welcomes and excludes former imperial subjects and has been utterly transformed by them.


Pre-Order Now Badge
A Good Life By Virginie Grimaldi, Hildegarde Serle (Translator) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9798889660248
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Europa Editions - May 28th, 2024

Full of humor and compassion, a profound exploration of sisterhood, healing, and the ineffable beauty of life from France's most beloved contemporary novelist. Laughter, tears, the transformative power of love, unexpected revelations, and striking natural beauty: these are the ingredients that combine to make best-selling author Virginie Grimaldi's American debut the feel-good read of 2024.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Cunning Folk: Life in the Era of Practical Magic By Tabitha Stanmore Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781639730537
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 28th, 2024

A vibrant look at an unsettled and strangely familiar time that overturns our assumptions about the history of magic. In historian Tabitha Stanmore's beguiling account, we meet lovelorn widows, dissolute nobles, selfless healers, and renegade monks who turned to  so-called "practical magic" to help weather the trials and tribulations of lost rings, childhood illnesses, uncertain futures, and everything else that makes up a human life.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Playbook: A Story of Theater, Democracy, and the Making of a Culture War By James Shapiro Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593490204
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Press - May 28th, 2024

Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Columbia University and Shakespeare Scholar in Residence at the Public Theater, James Shapiro turns his incomparable sights to the 20th century in his newest work. The Playbook charts the history of the Federal Theatre Project which, from 1935 - 1939 staged over a thousand productions in 29 states that were seen by thirty million (or nearly one in four) Americans, two thirds of whom had never before seen a play.