Beyond 112th St.

We do now have  one person in the store and contactless pick ups can be arranged by phone call 212-865-1588 of prepaid orders. 

Authors with Animals

Writers tend to be notorious loners while they're working on a project, but if they need an uncritical mind to bounce ideas off of, who better than a pet?  Brighten your day and procrastinate a little with these adorable authors and their animals!

Book Culture Celebrates Women’s History Month

There is no singular “women’s history”; the extremely vast and varied experience of womanhood can not be catalogued by one author or even one genre. In keeping with this idea, our Women’s History Month reading list features poetry, science fiction, politics, history, classics, graphic novels, and more. Whatever kind of reader you are, we hope our Women’s History Month reading list will introduce you to a new author, new genre, or new way of looking at womanhood.

C-SPAN Book Talks at Book Culture

C-SPAN has filmed several book talks at our stores over the past several years, including three talks this year. Most recently, they filmed talks with Lewis Gordon, author of What Fanon Said: A Philosophical Introduction to His Life and Thought and Andrew Cockburn, author of Kill Chain: The Rise of the High-Tech Assassins, and Mark Krotov, Senior Editor at Melville House. Check out the videos here!

Get Lost in Literature in Translation

lit in translation

In the throes of Ferrante fever? Enjoyed The Door as much as The New York Times? Then you just might be addicted to literature in translation! Surprisingly, only 3% of all novels published in the U.S. are in translation. But we are here to bridge the gap. Our new subscription program, Literature in Translation, features work from stellar authors and translators. Throughout the year indie bookseller Cari Kilbride will comb through a mix of translated classics and newly published books to choose a stand out novel to send every month. 
 

Go Around the World with Book Culture

Travel across the globe and gets insights into other cultures -- all from the comfort of your couch (or other favorite reading spot). Starting this month, you can sign up for our Around the World book subscription. Each month will feature a book from a different continent. These books, all chosen by indie bookseller Devon Dunn, capture the essence and locales of countries from around the world. This subscription is perfect for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche, Jorge Luis Borges, or Arundhati Roy. Learn a little more about this subscription, and the bookseller behind it, by checking out our Q&A with Devon here

June LGBT Pride Display at 112th

Honoring the anniversary of the 1969 Stonewall riots, June is LGBT Pride Month and at Book Culture on 112th, we’ve picked some of our favorite works of queer fiction, poetry, graphic lit and theory to celebrate. Reflecting the diversity of the LGBT community and its history, our picks illustrate the progress and victories of the present, honor the struggles and losses of the past, and offer hopeful critique and recognition of a better future.

Pages