Please allow 5-10 days for order processing for ALL orders, in addition to shipping times.

We are currently working with very limited staffing and your patience is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Recent Blog Entries

Booksellers on breaking up with books

Recently, I've found myself slogging through a whole host of books that really didn't click with me. From stylistic woes, to too-dense prose, from boring plots, to maybe just a personal thing, I've spent the last month reading books I didn't like. I picked up each title expecting to love it, yet every page started to feel like a chore. As a result, I read less often, prolonging my agony. Then one day I was lamenting about my latest read to a friend and she asked the great question I'd failed to ask myself: "Why are you still reading that book if you hate it?"

It's 2016. We Need Diverse Books

Diverse Books

If you follow trends in publishing, you'll know that the industry has recently woken up to the fact that minorities of all sorts are under-represented in books. We at Book Culture feel that this awakening is long overdue, and we hope that by promoting diverse books, we will encourage the industry to produce more of them. Below are a few of the picture books you can find on our shelves that feature characters who are minorities.

Go Around the World with Book Culture

Travel across the globe and gets insights into other cultures -- all from the comfort of your couch (or other favorite reading spot). Starting this month, you can sign up for our Around the World book subscription. Each month will feature a book from a different continent. These books, all chosen by indie bookseller Devon Dunn, capture the essence and locales of countries from around the world. This subscription is perfect for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche, Jorge Luis Borges, or Arundhati Roy. Learn a little more about this subscription, and the bookseller behind it, by checking out our Q&A with Devon here

Q&A with Molly Guptill Manning, author of "When Books Went to War"

Molly Guptill Manning is talking at New York Public Library's Mid-Manhattan branch on Monday, March 14 at 6:30pm on her book, When Books Went to War: The Stories that Helped Us Win World War II. We got in touch with her ahead of time and she was generous enough to answer a few of our questions. Check out her answers below! 

Author Spotlight: Muriel Barbery

Muriel Barbery's newest book, The Life of Elves, will be released in English on February 9th. After her enormous success with the beautifully written The Elegance of the Hedgehog, we're all eagerly awaiting her new novel as well as her visit to Book Culture for a reading and Q&A on February 10th! Check out her (spectacular) work below and be sure to catch her in February while she's still in the States!

Q&A with Rachel Cantor, author of "Good on Paper"

Rachel Cantor is joining us to talk about her new book, Good on Paper, on Thursday, January 28. After reading some amazing reivews, we're getting a bit impatient for the book's release, so we convinved Cantor to answer some of our more pressing questions ahead of time. Check out her answers below and be sure to come hear her speak at our Columbus location in a couple weeks!

Q&A with Ed Boland, author of "The Battle for Room 314"

Ed Boland will be here on Wednesday, February 17 at 7pm for a discussion on his new book, The Battle for Room 314. In eager anticipation of the event, we asked Boland to answer a few of our questions ahead of time. Check out our Q&A and join us in February to hear more about Boland's work!

Pages