Alan Brinkley: A Life in History (Hardcover)

Alan Brinkley: A Life in History Cover Image
By David Greenberg (Editor), Moshik Temkin (Editor), Mason B. Williams (Editor)
Available for Special Order - Usually ships in 3-5 Days


Few American historians of his generation have had as much influence in both the academic and popular realms as Alan Brinkley. His debut work, the National Book Award-winning Voices of Protest, launched a storied career that considered the full spectrum of American political life. His books give serious and original treatments of populist dissent, the role of mass media, the struggles of liberalism and conservatism, and the powers and limits of the presidency. A longtime professor at Harvard University and Columbia University, Brinkley has shaped the field of U.S. history for generations of students through his textbooks and his mentorship of some of today's foremost historians.

Alan Brinkley: A Life in History brings together essays on his major works and ideas, as well as personal reminiscences from leading historians and thinkers beyond the academy whom Brinkley collaborated with, befriended, and influenced. Among the luminaries in this volume are the critic Frank Rich, the journalists Jonathan Alter and Nicholas Lemann, the biographer A. Scott Berg, and the historians Eric Foner and Lizabeth Cohen. Together, the seventeen essays that form this book chronicle the life and thought of a working historian, the development of historical scholarship in our time, and the role that history plays in our public life. At a moment when Americans are pondering the plight of their democracy, this volume offers a timely overview of a consummate student--and teacher--of the American political tradition.

About the Author

David Greenberg, a historian of American politics, teaches at Rutgers University. His latest book is Republic of Spin: An Inside History of the American Presidency (2016). Moshik Temkin is associate professor of history and public policy at the Harvard Kennedy School and the author of The Sacco-Vanzetti Affair: America on Trial (2011). Mason B. Williams is assistant professor of leadership studies and political science at Williams College and the author of City of Ambition: FDR, La Guardia, and the Making of Modern New York (2013).
Product Details
ISBN: 9780231187244
ISBN-10: 0231187246
Publisher: Columbia University Press
Publication Date: January 8th, 2019
Pages: 232
Language: English