Falling Through the Music (Paperback)

Please allow 3-4 days for order processing for ALL orders, in addition to shipping times.

We are currently working with very limited staffing and your patience is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Falling Through the Music Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Not in Stock - Subject to Availability


In Falling Through the Music, his fifth major book of poetry, Mark Halperin gives us consolation, guidance, and companionship while delivering an accomplished meditation on the first real glimpses of the limits on a life. Displaying an agility of formal invention--he moves easily from a Whitmanesque and witty litany to rhymed quatrains--Halperin deftly melds technique to theme. As in "Someone Pausing, he is able to place us in the mind of someone--any one of us--who has stood on an island in the street, fully attentive and present, knowing nothing stays, not even the observer.--Hilda Raz, author of Trans and Divine Honors.

About the Author

Mark Halperin taught at Central Washington University and has taught in Japan, Estonia, Russia, and Ukraine. His poetry books have been published by the University of Pittsburgh Press, Wesleyan University Press, and Copper Canyon Press. His poems and translations have appeared in a variety of journals. Halperin lives outside of Ellensburg, Washington, near the Yakima River.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780268030810
ISBN-10: 0268030812
Publisher: University of Notre Dame Press
Publication Date: March 1st, 2007
Pages: 64
Language: English