Summer Tree, The: Book One of the Fionavar Tapestry (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Summer Tree, The: Book One of the Fionavar Tapestry Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 19 6:30pm

Staff Reviews

This is the first in a truly brilliant fantasy trilogy. Starting in our world five university students meet a man named Lauren Silvercloak. He tells them that not only is magic real but that there are other worlds and he asks that they come to his world to celebrate the fifth decade of their king. Scared, skeptical and a little intrigued the five decide to take him up on his strange offer and away they go to Fionavar and an adventure that they never could have seen coming. This novel blew me away and after I finished it all I wanted was more. So perfectly written and incredibly timed I have to recommend this book to anyone and everyone that loves not only a good fantasy but a good story in general.

-- Sara

— From Sara F. Staff Picks


Taken to a realm of magic and war, five men and women from our world embark on an epic journey in the first novel in Guy Gavriel Kay's classic, critically acclaimed fantasy trilogy, The Fionavar Tapestry.

It begins with a chance meeting that introduces the five to a man who will change their lives: a mage who brings them to the first of all worlds, Fionavar.

In this land of gods and myth, each of them is forced to discover what they are and what they are willing to do, as Fionavar stands on the brink of a terrifying war against a dark, vengeful god...

About the Author

Guy Gavriel Kay is the international bestselling author of numerous fantasy novels including The Fionavar Tapestry trilogy, Tigana, The Last Light of the Sun, Under Heaven, River of Stars, and Children of Earth and Sky. He has been awarded the International Goliardos Prize for his work in the literature of the fantastic, and won the World Fantasy Award for Ysabel in 2008. In 2014 he was named to the Order of Canada, the country's highest civilian honor. His works have been translated into more than twenty-five languages.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780451458223
ISBN-10: 0451458222
Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: April 1st, 2001
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Fionavar Tapestry (Paperback)