The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
112th St
2 on hand, as of Jun 20 5:45pm
2 on hand, as of Jun 20 5:45pm
Long Island City
2 on hand, as of Jun 20 5:45pm

Staff Reviews

I am constantly recommending this entire series (four books) because of it's attention to detail and the complete devotion to characters that Stiefvater gives to every single character that you find yourself always rooting for everyone (even the bad ones!). The plot is so mysterious and things are never what you expect. I haven't enjoyed a series this much since Harry Potter.

-- Josh

— From Josh H. Staff Picks

Psychics, curses, sleeping Welsh Kings, ghosts, baby ravens, and orange Cameros. What more could you want? This is not just a story about a girl and the four boys that change her life forever. It's a story about the strange, magnetic, and vicious bonds that hold people together. It's a story about pride, and love, and the inexplicable way that the past and the future bend into one another. It's a story about magic-- in it's best and worst forms. Stiefvater is a writer of extreme humanity, humor, and skill. Her stories weave from funny to heartwrenching to terrifying in an instant. All you have to do is hold on.

-- Haley

— From Haley P. Staff Picks

Fall '12 Kids List

“Blue has grown up in a house full of women psychics who have foretold certain death for her first love. She unwillingly becomes friends with a gaggle of boys, the Raven Boys, from the very expensive private school in town. They're on the search for a mythical king who is said to grant a wish to whoever finds him. Will Blue's ability to intensify the magic around them help on their quest or put them in danger? The Raven Boys will pull you into their thrilling journey.”
— Hannah Johnson-Breimeier, Next Chapter Bookshop, Mequon, WI


Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can't entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn't believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she's not so sure anymore.

About the Author

Maggie Stiefvater is the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the novels SHIVER, LINGER, FOREVER, and THE SCORPIO RACES. She is also the author of LAMENT: THE FAERIE QUEEN'S DECEPTION and BALLAD: A GATHERING OF FAERIE. She lives in Virginia with her husband and their two children. You can visit her online at
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545424936
ISBN-10: 0545424933
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks
Publication Date: July 30th, 2013
Pages: 409
Language: English
Series: Raven Cycle