The Giver (Giver Quartet #1) (Hardcover)

The Giver (Giver Quartet #1) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Not in Stock - Out of Print


The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver, including Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.

Praise For…

"Wrought with admirable skill -- the emptiness and menace underlying this Utopia emerge step by inexorable step: a richly provocative novel." --Kirkus Reviews

"In a departure from her well-known and favorably regarded realistic works, Lowry has written a fascinating, thoughtful science-fiction novel. The story takes place in a nameless, utopian community, at an unidentified future time. Although life seems perfect -- there is no hunger, no disease, no pollution, no fear -- the reader becomes uneasily aware that all is not well. The story is skillfully written; the air of disquiet is delicately insinuated; and the theme of balancing the values of freedom and security is beautifully presented." --Horn Book Guide

Product Details
ISBN: 9780547424774
ISBN-10: 0547424779
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Publication Date: October 25th, 2011
Pages: 197
Language: English
Series: Giver Quartet