George V. Higgins: The Life and Writings (Paperback)

George V. Higgins: The Life and Writings By Erwin H. Ford Cover Image
$49.94
Not In Stock - Usually ships in 3-5 Days

Description


Best known for his popular crime fiction, Boston novelist George V. Higgins (1939-1999) should stand among the top ranks of the American literary canon. In his 26 novels and dozens of short stories, Higgins chronicled the lives of Boston's Irish with his trademark hard-boiled dialog, exploring the criminal underworld, American democracy, Boston politics, personal redemption and New England life in the tradition of Hawthorne and Thoreau. This intimate biography explores his turbulent life and career, including his working-class Irish Catholic roots, his two stormy marriages, his ambivalence toward the city of his birth, his passion for the limelight, and his drinking, which disrupted his family life and led to his early death at age 59. Discussions of Higgins's individual works and excerpts from his correspondence, writings, and thoughts on literature complete this revealing portrait.

About the Author


Erwin H. Ford II teaches at Albany State University in Georgia. He has written for the Buffalo News (New York) and the News and Observer (Raleigh), and has been a columnist for Cox Communication newspapers. He lives in Americus, Georgia.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780786494750
ISBN-10: 0786494751
Publisher: McFarland & Company
Publication Date: July 14th, 2014
Pages: 228
Language: English