I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody (Paperback)

I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody Cover Image
$13.95
Available for Special Order - Usually ships in 3-5 Days

Description


An inventory of the General Security headquarters in central Baghdad reveals an obscure manuscript. Written by a young man in detention, the prose moves from prison life, to adolescent memories, to frightening hallucinations, and what emerges is a portrait of life in Saddam Hussein's Iraq.

In the tradition of Kafka's The Trial or Orwell's 1984, I'jaam offers insight into life under an oppressive political regime and how that oppression works. This is a stunning debut by a major young Iraqi writer-in-exile.

Sinan Antoon has been published in leading international journals and has co-directed About Baghdad, an acclaimed documentary about Iraq under US occupation.

About the Author


Sinan Antoon was born in Baghdad, Iraq. After the 1991 Gulf War, he left Iraq and settled in the US where he studied Arabic Literature at Georgetown and Harvard. His poems and essays (Arabic and English) have been published in leading journals and newspapers in the Arab world, as well as The Nation, al-Ahram Weekly and Middle East Report.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780872864573
ISBN-10: 087286457X
Publisher: City Lights Publishers - City Lights Publishe
Publication Date: June 1st, 2007
Pages: 97
Language: English