A Child's Garden of Verses (Paperback)

A Child's Garden of Verses Cover Image
Not in Stock - Available for special order


A Child's Garden of Verses is a collection of poetry for children about childhood, illness, play and solitude by the Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson. The collection first appeared in 1885 under the title Penny Whistles, but has been reprinted many times, often in illustrated versions. It contains about 65 poems including the cherished classics "Foreign Children," "The Lamplighter," "The Land of Counterpane," "Bed in Summer," "My Shadow" and "The Swing." The classical scholar Terrot Reaveley Glover published a translation of the poems into Latin in 1922 under the title Carmina non prius audita de ludis et hortis virginibus puerisque This classic children's poetry collection includes the following titles, To Alison Cunningham, Bed in Summer, A Thought, At the Sea-side, Young Night Thought, Whole Duty of Children, Rain, Pirate Story (poem), Foreign Lands, Windy Nights, Travelling, Singing, Looking Forward, A Good Play Where Go the Boats?, Auntie's Skirts, The Land of Counterpane, The Land of Nod, and My Shadow, among many others.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781514288108
ISBN-10: 1514288109
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: June 10th, 2015
Pages: 76
Language: English