The Afterwards (Hardcover)

The Afterwards Cover Image
By A.F. Harrold, Emily Gravett (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Book Culture (112th St)
1 on hand, as of Mar 25 6:30pm
Book Culture on Columbus
3 on hand, as of Mar 25 6:30pm
Book Culture LIC
1 on hand, as of Mar 25 6:30pm
Book Culture on Broadway
3 on hand, as of Mar 25 6:30pm

Description


From the acclaimed team behind The Imaginary comes another powerful, poignant, and darkly fantastical story about friendship, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Ember and Ness are best friends, completely inseparable. Ember can't imagine what life would be without Ness. Until Ness dies, in a most sudden and unexpected way. Ember feels completely empty. How can this even be real?

Then Ember finds a way into the afterworld-a place where the recently dead reside. She knows there must be a way to bring Ness back, so she decides to find it. Because that's what friends do: rescue each other. But the afterworld holds its own dangers. How far will Ember go to make things the way they were again?

Paired with enchanting illustrations from Emily Gravett, A. F. Harrold's powerfully woven tale explores the lengths we go to for the people we love.

About the Author


A.F. Harrold is an English poet (1975 - present). He writes and performs for adults and children, in cabaret and in schools, in bars and in basements, in fields and indoors. He was Glastonbury Festival Website's Poet-In-Residence in 2008, and Poet-In-Residence at Cheltenham Literature Festival in 2010. He won the Cheltenham All Stars Slam Championship in 2007 and has had his work on BBC Radio 4, Radio 3 and BBC7. He is active in schools work, running workshops and slams and doing performances at ungodly hours of the morning, and has published several collections of poetry. He is the owner of many books, a handful of hats, a few good ideas and one beard.

Emily Gravett is an award-winning children's author and illustrator who lives in Brighton, England. She is the winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal for Wolves and Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears.

Praise For…


“Gravett's full-color illustrations perfectly channel Harrold's narrative . . . Gripping and poignant, a look at what it means to be brave and alive in the face of loss.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A curious, immersive narrative . . . Ember's vibrant personality imbues the book with unfaltering warmth.” —Booklist, starred review

“Aided by Gravett's evocative art, Harrold brings this eerie . . . tale about accepting change, letting go, and love's indissoluble bonds to an affecting finale that is very much grounded in real life.” —Publishers Weekly

“Harrold brings a delectable combination of coziness, sympathy, and menace to this story . . . and Gravett's soft and friendly watercolor and pencil art . . . further ground the adventure, making this an accessible story of controlled shivers and heartfelt compassion.” —BCCB

“Readers of Neil Gaiman or Roald Dahl may find this title particularly appealing . . . Recommended.” —School Library Connection

“Wonderfully entertaining.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on THE IMAGINARY

“A great choice for readers who like fantastic tales with a dose of true scariness.” —School Library Journal, starred review, on THE IMAGINARY

“Affecting and lovely.” —The New York Times Book Review on THE IMAGINARY

“[A] winningly whimsical celebration of the imagination, beautifully enhanced by both black-and-white and full-color illustrations.” —Booklist on THE IMAGINARY

“Masterfully paced and stunningly crafted.” —Shelf Awareness, starred review, on THE SONG FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE

“Strong characterizations and a good dose of spookiness are standouts.” —School Library Journal, starred review, on THE SONG FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE

“Captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on THE SONG FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE

“Incisive [and] poetic.” —The Horn Book Magazine, starred review, on THE SONG FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE

Product Details
ISBN: 9781547600441
ISBN-10: 1547600446
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: March 19th, 2019
Pages: 208
Language: English