Shut Up! (Paperback)

Shut Up! Cover Image
Not in Stock - Subject to Availability


When their mother is called to Iraq with her National Guard Unit, 17-year-old Mario Barajas and his 10-year-old brother, Eddie, are sent to live with their Aunt Carmen. Soon after the boys move in, their aunt's boyfriend, Denton, begins spending more and more time at Carmen's, particularly with Eddie. When Mario notices that his little brother is laughing less and behaving rather strangely, he soon discovers the sexual abuse that Eddie has been suffering at the hands of Denton. With their mother miles away, their aunt's boyfriend threatening to split the boys up into different foster homes, and his brother refusing to tell anyone else the truth, Mario must do whatever he can to keep his brother safe. This is a gripping and moralizing tale of trust, betrayal, and secrets that should never be kept.

About the Author

Marilyn Reynolds is the author of the Hamilton High series, which includes "Baby Help," " Beyond Dreams," "But What About Me?," "Detour for Emmy," "If You Loved Me," "Love Rules," "No More Sad Goodbyes," "Telling," and "Too Soon for Jeff." She is also the author of "I Won't Read and You Can't Make Me." She was nominated for an Emmy Award for the ABC Afterschool Special teleplay of "Too Soon for Jeff." She lives in Gold River, California.

Praise For…

"This latest installation in the True-to-Life Series from Hamilton High presents a marginalized issuesexual abuse of boysin a frank, thoughtful, and sensitive manner."  VOYA

"Reynolds' treatment of youth and their challenges, from sexual abstinence to mixed-race parentage is compassionate, never condescending; the dialogue, situations, emotions, and behavior of the well-defined teen characters ring true. An engaging, thought-provoking read."  Booklist on If You Loved Me
Product Details
ISBN: 9781932538885
ISBN-10: 1932538887
Publisher: Morning Glory Press (CA)
Publication Date: December 1st, 2008
Pages: 245
Language: English
Series: True-To-Life Series from Hamilton High (Paperback)