112th: Armando Lucas Correa for The Silence in Her Eyes

Event date: 
02/08/2024 - 7:00pm

Join us Thursday, February 8th at 7pm for the launch of The Silence in Her Eyes with the author Armando Lucas Correa. He will be in conversation with Cody Stuart Madsen

In order to facilitate this in-person author event, we will be partially closing the second floor starting at 6:45pm. Please review our Safety guidelines and register for the event using the link below. 

   

or register using the following link: https://forms.gle/yXB4sXtwbSZpY3e76


In the vein of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware, a bold and suspenseful psychological thriller about a young woman with a rare neurological condition who is convinced her neighbor is going to be murdered.

Leah has been living with akinetopsia, or motion blindness, since she was a child. For the last twenty years, she hasn’t been able to see movement. As she walks around her upper Manhattan neighborhood with her white stick tapping in front, most people assume she’s blind. But the truth is Leah sees a good deal, and with her acute senses of smell and hearing, very little escapes her notice.

She has a quiet, orderly life, with little human contact beyond her longtime housekeeper, her doctor, and her elderly neighbor. That all changes when Alice moves into the apartment next door and Leah can immediately smell the anxiety wafting off her. Worse, Leah can’t help but hear Alice and a late-night visitor engage in a violent fight. Worried, she befriends her neighbor and discovers that Alice is in the middle of a messy divorce from an abusive husband.

Then one night, Leah wakes up to someone in her apartment. She blacks out and in the morning is left wondering if she dreamt the episode. And yet the scent of the intruder follows her everywhere. And when she hears Alice through the wall pleading for her help, Leah makes a decision that will test her courage, her strength, and ultimately her sanity.


Armando Lucas Correa is an award-winning journalist, editor, author, and the recipient of several awards from the National Association of Hispanic Publications and the Society of Professional Journalism. He is the author of the international bestseller The German Girl, which is now being published in seventeen languages and has sold more than one million copies; The Daughter's Tale; and The Night Traveler, for which he was awarded the Cintas Foundation Creative Writing Fellowship. He lives in New York City with his husband and their three children. Visit ArmandoLucasCorrea.com.

Cody Stuart Madsen is the Vice President of Operations for Book Culture. He has worked at Book Culture since 2011. 

Event address: 
Book Culture
536 W 112th St
New York, NY 10025
The Silence in Her Eyes: A Novel By Armando Lucas Correa Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982197506
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Atria Books - January 16th, 2024