112th: De’Shawn Charles Winslow on In West Mills

Event date: 
06/05/2019 - 7:00pm

Join us at Book Culture on 112th on Wednesday, June 5th, at 7pm for a discussion with De’Shawn Charles Winslow on his debut novel, In West Mills.

For readers of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Turner House, an intimately told story about a woman living by her own rules and the rural community that struggles to understand her.

Azalea "Knot" Centre is determined to live life as she pleases. Let the people of West Mills say what they will; the neighbors' gossip won't keep Knot from what she loves best: cheap moonshine, nineteenth-century literature, and the company of men. And yet, Knot is starting to learn that her freedom comes at a high price. Alone in her one-room shack, ostracized from her relatives and cut off from her hometown, Knot turns to her neighbor, Otis Lee Loving, in search of some semblance of family and home.

Otis Lee is eager to help. A lifelong fixer, Otis Lee is determined to steer his friends and family away from decisions that will cause them heartache and ridicule. After his failed attempt as a teenager to help his older sister, Otis Lee discovers a possible path to redemption in the chaos Knot brings to his doorstep. But while he's busy trying to fix Knot's life, Otis Lee finds himself powerless to repair the many troubles within his own family, as the long-buried secrets of his troubled past begin to come to light.

Set in an African American community in rural North Carolina from 1941 to 1987, In West Mills is a magnificent, big-hearted small-town story about family, friendship, storytelling, and the redemptive power of love.


A 2017 graduate of Iowa Writers’ Workshop, De’Shawn Charles Winslow holds a BFA in creative writing and an MA in English literature from Brooklyn College. He has received scholarships from the Napa Valley Writers’ Conference and the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference. In West Mills is his first book. He lives in New York City.

Event address: 
Book Culture
536 W 112th St
New York, NY 10025
Can't make it? Reserve a signed copy by calling our store today: 
In West Mills Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781635573404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title to See Location Inventory.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - June 4th, 2019