112th: Judith Lindbergh with Christina Baker Kline

Event date: 
06/18/2024 - 7:00pm

Join us Tuesday, June 18th at 7pm for a reading and conversation with Judith Lindbergh to celebrate the release of AkmaralChristina Baker Kline will join as discussant. 

In order to facilitate this in-person author event, we will be partially closing the second floor starting at 6:45pm. Please review our Safety guidelines and register for the event using the link below. 

   

or register using the following link: https://forms.gle/jteSyyzY6eDf5Cvy6


About Akmaral:

Like all women of the Sauromatae, Akmaral is bound for battle from birth, training as a girl in horsemanship, archery, spear and blade. Her prowess ignites the jealousy of Erzhan, a gifted warrior who hates her as much as he desires her. When Scythian renegades attack, the two must unite to defeat them. Among their captives is Timor, the rebels’ enigmatic leader who refuses to be broken, even as he is enslaved. He fascinates Akmaral. But as attraction grows to passion, she is blinded to the dangerous alliance forming between the men who bristle against the clan’s matriarchal rule. Faced with brutal betrayal, Akmaral must find the strength to defend her people and fulfill her destiny.

Inspired by legends of Amazon women warriors told by ancient Greek historian Herodotus, and evidenced by several archaeological discoveries in Central Asia:

  • the Ice Maiden on the Ukok Plateau, called the “Pasture of Heaven” by the people of the Altai Mountains of southern Siberia; and
  • the â€śGolden Man” of Issyk, a warrior burial that researchers believe might actually be a woman.

Praise for Akmaral:

“Fraught with conflict both internal and external. Thoroughly imagined and vividly described… Fans of Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes will relish how Lindbergh weaves fact and fiction to craft a gripping saga, a love story, and a convincing portrait of a time and people lost to history.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 bestselling author of Orphan Train and The Exiles

“Akmaral may be one of the most fascinating warriors in literature…. Written with a wild poetry, the author brings to life a strong woman and her unforgettable story amid stark cliffs and green pastures. Akmaral is pure literary magic.” â€”Stephanie Cowell, American Book Award recipient and author of Claude & Camille: a novel of Monet and The Boy in the Rain


Judith Lindbergh’s newest novel Akmaral is about a nomad woman warrior on the ancient Asian steppes. Her debut novel, The Thrall’s Tale, about three women in the first Viking Age settlement in Greenland, was an IndieBound Pick, a Borders Original Voices Selection, and praised by Pulitzer Prize winners Geraldine Brooks and Robert Olen Butler. Her work has appeared in numerous publications including Archaeology MagazineNext Avenue, Zibby MagazineEdible Jersey, and elsewhere. She contributed to the Smithsonian Institution’s exhibition Vikings: The Norse Atlantic Saga and was an expert commentator on the History Channel’s documentary series Mankind: The Story of All of Us. Judith is the Founder/Director of The Writers Circle, a New Jersey-based creative writing center where she regularly teaches creative writing to students from ages 8-80. https://judithlindbergh.com/ 

Christina Baker Kline is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of eight novels, including The ExilesOrphan Train, and A Piece of the World, and the author and/or editor of five nonfiction books. She is published in more than 40 countries; her books are taught in universities, colleges, and high schools.

Event address: 
Book Culture
536 W 112th St
New York, NY 10025
Akmaral By Judith Lindbergh Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781646034697
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Regal House Publishing - May 7th, 2024

The Exiles: A Novel By Christina Baker Kline Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062356338
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Mariner Books - July 6th, 2021