Middle Grade Monster Mash (Ages 7-12)

Staff Pick Badge
Part of Your Nightmare (Disney Chills, Book One) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781368048255
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

Ages 8-12, great for fans of Goosebumps series and Disney twists.


Staff Pick Badge
Vampires Don't Wear Polka Dots (The Bailey School Kids #1): Vampires Don't Wear Polka Dots Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9780590434119
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - January 1st, 1991

Ages 7-10, great for fans of A-Z Mysteries and Scooby Doo.


Staff Pick Badge
Nate the Great and the Halloween Hunt Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780440403418
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Yearling - September 1st, 1990

Ages 6-9, the perfect example of a "Halloween Edition" done right.


Staff Pick Badge
Thirteens Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593117040
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 3rd, 2021

 Ages 10-13, For fans of It. Every 13 years on Halloween, 3 13-year-olds in a sleepy town are taken away...and never heard from again.


Staff Pick Badge
The Hiddenseek Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984816764
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

 Ages 8-12, an action-packed horror novel featuring a twisted fusion of hide and seek and freeze tag. 


Staff Pick Badge
Scary Stories for Young Foxes Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250250445
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Square Fish - August 31st, 2021

Ages 9-12, Seven fox siblings listen to scary stories in the dark woods...can they make it through the night? Scary stories in the tradition of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, tied together by foxes.


Staff Pick Badge
The Ghost in Apartment 2R Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780525645740
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Yearling - September 15th, 2020

Ages 10+, for fans of the TV show Supernatural, Danny and his friends must figure out what's haunting his Brooklyn apt so they can put it to rest.


Staff Pick Badge
Doll Bones Cover Image
By Holly Black, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416963998
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - April 14th, 2015

ages 10-14, a now-classic haunted middle grade novel featuring ghosts and cursed dolls. 


Staff Pick Badge
Small Spaces Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525515043
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Puffin Books - July 9th, 2019

ages 10+, When Ollie's school bus breaks down on the way home, the ghost story she was reading about comes to life, and she and her friends must heed the warning and RUN. 

 


Staff Pick Badge
Which Witch? Cover Image
By Eva Ibbotson, Annabel Large (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141304274
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Puffin Books - July 3rd, 2000

 Ages 8-12, Arriman the Awful holds a competition to determine the darkest witch out there. Great for fans of Harry Potter!


Staff Pick Badge
Bunnicula: 40th Anniversary Edition (Bunnicula and Friends) Cover Image
By James Howe, Deborah Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781534435933
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - May 21st, 2019

Ages 8-12, Just two words- "bunny vampire."


Staff Pick Badge
Coraline 10th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780380807345
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: HarperCollins - April 24th, 2012

Ages 10+    "Black is traditional." It's hard to beat the iconic film, but this is the original story as written by Gaiman and it is just as spooky and fun as the movie. Definitely worth a read (or a re-read) this October.


Staff Pick Badge
The Graveyard Book Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator), Margaret Atwood (Foreword by)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780060530945
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: HarperCollins - December 24th, 2018

Ages 10+   A boy raised by ghosts makes friends with a living girl and learns how to straddle both worlds. The Graveyard Book is simultaneously sinister and gentle, a coming-of-age tale and a classic ghost story, a delightful fantasy world and a startlingly accurate portrayal of loneliness, love, and family. Heartwarming and sustainably horrific, it's a great read for Halloween season.


Staff Pick Badge
The Witches Cover Image
By Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142410110
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Puffin Books - August 16th, 2007

Ages 8-12  No one does children's dark fantasy quite like Roald Dahl. If you're looking for a children's classic and an irrational fear of being turned into a mouse, The Witches is the way to go.


Staff Pick Badge
The Stonekeeper: A Graphic Novel (Amulet #1) Cover Image
By Kazu Kibuishi, Kazu Kibuishi (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780439846813
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Graphix - January 1st, 2008

Ages 7-12  Amulet is a great graphic novel series all around. Filled with magic, monsters, and two normal kids wading through it all, this graphic novel series will have your kids staying up late to finish the whole set.


Staff Pick Badge
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781594746031
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Quirk Books - June 4th, 2013

 Ages 14+  The photography in Peculiar Children makes this book more realistic and more fantastical than any other novel detailing strange happenings that I've read. Peculiar Children feels like if David Lynch took some strange photographs of children and then a story sprung up fully formed around them. It's equal parts weird and fun!