Devon D. Staff Picks

Devon D.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Woodworm By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator) Cover Image
By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781949641592
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Two Lines Press - May 14th, 2024

A twisty, taut novella that is very much the spiritual heir of We Have Always Live in the Castle, Woodworm is one of the best things I've read in 2024. Gothic fiction with a modernist twist in the vein of Mariana Enriquez or Helen Oyeyemi.


Staff Pick Badge
Rouge Street: Three Novellas By Shuang Xuetao, Jeremy Tiang (Translated by) Cover Image
By Shuang Xuetao, Jeremy Tiang (Translated by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250871145
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Metropolitan Books - April 11th, 2023

The literary stylings of Shuang Xuetao, one of China's most-celebrated contemporary writers, are available in English for the first time. This collection of linked novellas has everything: murder, love stories, a frozen lake that's a portal to hell, etc.


Staff Pick Badge
Duplex: A Novel By Kathryn Davis Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555976910
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Graywolf Press - October 7th, 2014

Every page of Duplex is like a dream half-remembered upon waking or a movie only watched late at night with bad tv reception in an unfamiliar motel room. There's something nostalgic and ominous here--I can't explain it any better than that.