Hannah F. Staff Picks

Hannah F.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Disappearing Earth By Julia Phillips Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525436225
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Vintage - April 7th, 2020

I read this book 5 years ago and yet I'm still thinking about the ending!! Completely mesmerizing and immensely moving. Two sisters go missing on Russia's remote Kamchatka Peninsula, an alluring locale rife with tension. Phillips' debut is pure brilliance!


Staff Pick Badge
Great Circle: A Novel (Man Booker Prize Finalist) By Maggie Shipstead Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781984897701
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Vintage - April 5th, 2022

WWII historical fiction meets Taylor Jenkins Reid in this sweeping tale! Told in two timelines, one in the mid-1900s and the other present day, GREAT CIRCLE tells the story of a female pilot, Marian, who disappears attempting to circumnavigate the globe, and the actress portraying her in a contemporary biopic.


Staff Pick Badge
They're Going to Love You: A Novel By Meg Howrey Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593468005
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Anchor - September 5th, 2023

In this moving father-daughter story, we follow Carlisle, who dreams of becoming a Balanchine ballerina like her mother, and the complicated relationship she has with her dad and his partner. A beautifully written novel of art and family set in NYC's West Village.


Staff Pick Badge
The Rachel Incident: A novel By Caroline O'Donoghue Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593469446
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Vintage - May 28th, 2024

My favorite book of 2023! College student Rachel works part-time in a bookstore with her best friend James. When they both fall headfirst for the same (married) English professor, a wonderful mix of chaos and drama ensues. Set in Ireland, this novel is perfect for fans of Sally Rooney.


Staff Pick Badge
Tom Lake: A Novel By Ann Patchett Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063327528
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Harper - August 1st, 2023

Another stunningly beautiful novel from Patchett! Nostalgic, warm and cozy; reading Tom Lake feels like curling up next to your best friend while she tells you a story. Somehow, Patchett makes ordinary family dynamics into something extraordinary. Best read with a bowl of cherries... and don't miss the audiobook, narrated by Ms. Meryl Streep herself!


Staff Pick Badge
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead: A Novel By Emily Austin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982167363
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Washington Square Press - June 28th, 2022

Hilarious!! An atheist lesbian (with debilitating anxiety) takes a job as a secretary at a Catholic church and accidentally implicates herself in a murder. Austin's deadpan humor make this a cathartic read, equal parts morbid and poignant. 5 stars!


Staff Pick Badge
This Time Tomorrow: A Novel By Emma Straub Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525539018
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Riverhead Books - May 16th, 2023

The perfect book to devour in an afternoon! Humorous and heartwarming and hard to put down. Join Alice as she grieves the impending loss of her father by travelling back in time to hang out with his younger self. An emotional read that will keep you laughing until it makes you cry.


Staff Pick Badge
Priestdaddy: A Memoir By Patricia Lockwood Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399573262
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Riverhead Books - May 1st, 2018

The funniest book I've ever read! If you thought your family was complex, try spending 300 pages with Patricia Lockwood's... PRIESTDADDY is unflinchingly honest and downright hilarious. So good!


Staff Pick Badge
Fight Night By Miriam Toews Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781635579789
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 31st, 2023

Emotionally powerful and exceptionally witty. I deeply admire an author who can make me laugh out loud on one page and drive me to ugly tears on the next!


Staff Pick Badge
The Sentence: A Novel By Louise Erdrich Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780062671134
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Harper Perennial - September 6th, 2022

A beautifully written, page-turning read about reckoning, grief, isolation, and growing closer to the ones you love when you need them the most. THE SENTENCE is a testament to the power of the written word and an homage to the book lover. A must read!


Staff Pick Badge
Disorientation: A Novel By Elaine Hsieh Chou Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593298374
Availability: On hand at one or more locations, see product page for details
Published: Penguin Books - March 21st, 2023

A highly ~disorienting~ read in the best possible way! Full of surprises from start to finish, and one that I wanted to reread as soon as it ended. Another tragically funny satire on the Asian American experience, perfect for fans of Charles Yu's Interior Chinatown.